NY-Style Pizza Dough – a work in progress

I’ve been fine-tuning my pizza dough for the past several months, but I recently decided to throw a wrench in all that and try out a high protein flour instead of my usual King Arthur All Purpose flour. 30 bucks and 50 pounds of flour later, I left the KA factory store with a bag of their high-gluten Sir Lancelot flour, purported to be best for artisan breads, bagels and pizza. I’ve made a couple of batches of dough at this point and am still working on dialing in the recipe but it’s already been giving me great results. I used Peter Reinhart’s recipe at FornoBravo.com as a basis, modifying it a bit for my own needs and preferred ingredients. I also found that recipe to be just a touch too sticky, so I altered the flour:water ratio a bit. This dough has a lot of body to it and can be used to produce a thin NY style pizza, but I’ve also enjoyed it as a somewhat thicker crust. I’ll probably update this as I optimize the recipe.

NY-Style Pizza Dough (~3 16-inch pizzas)

  • 34.25 oz King Arthur Sir Lancelot Flour
  • 1 tbs King Arthur Diastatic Malt Powder
  • 0.75 oz salt
  • 0.3 oz instant dry yeast (Saf-Instant)
  • 2.25 oz vegetable oil/olive oil
  • 21 oz warm water

Mix dry ingredients briefly to distribute evenly. Add olive oil, water, knead on setting 2 until all of the flour is worked in and it’s a cohesive ball (about 6-7 minutes). Rest 5-10 minutes, knead on setting 2 for another 3-4 minutes. Cover and cold-ferment 1-3 days in the refrigerator. Tastes great after 1 day but even better on days 2-3. Stretch out 1/3 of dough into a 16-inch circle dusting with flour if needed. Either bake with toppings added at 500+ degrees F or par-bake 5 minutes at 450F, add toppings, return to 450F oven.

Leave a Reply

